Republican Campaign Poster

H. Wayne Morgan Book Prize

H. Wayne Morgan Book Prize

The Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era is delighted to announce the Wayne Morgan Prize for the best book published in political history of United States in the period 1865-1920s.

The prize is given in honor of H. Wayne Morgan, who was the George Lynn Cross Research Professor of History at the University of Oklahoma and a foundational historian of the Gilded Age. Please read our tribute to Morgan here.

The H. Wayne Morgan Prize is awarded in odd-numbered years beginning in 2021. Edited volumes and collections are not eligible. Books translated into English are eligible if they meet other criteria for the prize.

Winners of this award will be honored at the annual SHGAPE luncheon at the OAH and will receive a certificate and an honorarium.

Past Awardees

2021 Morgan Prize Winner
Charlie Laderman, Sharing the Burden: The Armenian Question, Humanitarian Intervention, and Anglo-American Visions of Global Order (Oxford University Press, 2019)

2021 Honorable Mention
Charles Postel, Equality: An American Dilemma, 1866-1896 (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2019)

Comments are closed.

See the latest issue of the Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era Latest Issue

Become a Member of SHGAPE

Receive a year's subscription to our quarterly SHGAPE journal.