Roger D. Bridges Distinguished Service Award

Roger D. Bridges Distinguished Service Award

The Roger D. Bridges Distinguished Service Award is given to members of the Society who have contributed especially valuable and distinguished service to SHGAPE. No more than two members may receive the award in a given year. The winners are chosen by the SHGAPE Executive Council and will be honored at the annual SHGAPE luncheon. The recipient(s) of the award shall receive a commemorative plaque or certificate.


2024 – Amy Louise Wood, Illinois State University

2023 – Boyd Cothran, York University

2022 – Stacy A. Cordery, Iowa State University

2021 – Jeremy C. Young, PEN America

2020 – Elaine Frantz, Kent State University

2019 – Benjamin Johnson, Loyola University, and Robert D. Johnston, University of Illinois-Chicago

2018 – Jo Ann Argersinger, Southern Illinois University

2018 – Julia Irwin, University of South Florida

2016 – Wendy Gamber, Indiana University

2016 – Robert Cherny, San Francisco State University

2015 – Christopher McKnight Nichols, Oregon State University

2015 – Philip Vandermeer, Arizona State University

2013 – Alan Lessoff, Illinois State University

2010 – Thomas Culbertson, Rutherford B. Hayes Center

2009 – Charles Calhoun, East Carolina University

2008 – Walter Nugent, University of Notre Dame

2007 – Roger D. Bridges, Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center

See the latest issue of the Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era Latest Issue

Become a Member of SHGAPE

Receive a year's subscription to our quarterly SHGAPE journal.