Presidents’ Book Prize

Presidents’ Book Prize

The Presidents’ Book Prize is awarded in even-numbered years for the best book treating any aspect of United States history in the period 1865-1920s. It must be the author’s second or subsequent scholarly book.  The prize is given in honor of the past presidents of SHGAPE.  The inaugural award was offered in 2018.

Winners of this prize are honored at the annual SHGAPE luncheon and receive a certificate and an honorarium.

Submissions for the 2024 Presidents’ Book Prize will be accepted in Fall 2023. Please check back for details at that time. Edited volumes and collections are not eligible. Books translated into English are eligible if they meet other criteria for the prize.


2022 Presidents’ Book Prize Winner
K. Stephen Prince, The Ballad of Robert Charles: Searching for the New Orleans Riot of 1900 (University of North Carolina Press, 2021)

2022 Honorable Mention
Cathleen D. Cahill, Recasting the Vote: How Women of Color Transformed the Suffrage Movement (University of North Carolina Press, 2020)

2020 Presidents’ Book Prize Winner
Andrew Huebner, Love and Death in the Great War (Oxford University Press, 2018)

2018 Presidents’ Book Prize Winner
Janet M. Davis, The Gospel of Kindness: Animal Welfare and the Making of Modern America (Oxford University Press, 2016)

2018 Honorable Mention
Benjamin Heber Johnson, Escaping the Dark, Gray City: Fear and Hope in Progressive-Era Conservation (Yale University Press, 2017)

Comments are closed.

See the latest issue of the Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era Latest Issue

Become a Member of SHGAPE

Receive a year's subscription to our quarterly SHGAPE journal.