Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era

President: Julie Greene

Vice President:  Lloyd Ambrosius

Development Committee:

  • Jo Ann E. Argersinger
  • Manfred Berg
  • Robert W. Cherny
  • Donna Gabaccia
  • Julia Irwin
  • Michael Kazin
  • Christopher McKnight Nichols
  • Sherry Smith

   Dear Colleague:

On behalf of everyone at the Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era (SHGAPE), I send you my best wishes for the holiday season. I wanted to take this opportunity to update you on SHGAPE’s recent activities. As you know, the Society is a vital scholarly organization.  In addition to sponsoring conference panels at the AHA and OAH, it awards prizes for scholarship and service. By fostering collaborative efforts with such other societies as the association for British American Nineteenth Century Historians, SHGAPE has worked to enhance the visibility and creativity of scholarly pursuits. At the OAH in April 2014, moreover, SHGAPE sponsored the Distinguished Historian Address given by University of Michigan Professor Philip J. Deloria, which was extremely well received. Of special note and thanks to the leadership and creative efforts of Professor Chris Nichols, SHGAPE now has a robust and engaging web site that highlights the accomplishments of scholars in the field and provides a thorough introduction to the Society and its activities. We invite you to visit the new website at www.

Continuing these initiatives and promoting new ones that recognize outstanding scholarship and encourage the study of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era require additional support. Your generosity will enable the Society to advance its scholarly mission and to establish new programs that will not only complement existing prizes and awards but also strengthen the Society’s academic presence and significance. In particular, the Society would like to recognize the leading scholarship in the Gilded Age and Progressive Era by establishing a new prize for the Best Book published in the field.  This represents an important addition to the existing prize awarded for the best first book—The Vincent P. DeSantis Prize.  To promote an intellectually exciting future for the field, SHGAPE also plans to provide travel grants to graduate students presenting papers at the AHA and OAH.  This effort is especially needed in light of shrinking university resources.

These are valuable and important initiatives that we hope you will support. Contributions to the Endowment or to SHGAPE’s programs will enable the organization to promote excellence in teaching, scholarship, and the presentation of Gilded Age and Progressive Era history.  You may support SHGAPE in several ways. By becoming a Life Member, you contribute directly to the Endowment fund.  You may also elect to support the new and continuing initiatives by contributing to the Society.  SHGAPE has been established as a non-profit organization and contributions are tax deductible.

Please consider making a contribution to support the work of the Society.  And please join our organization if you are not already a member.  SHGAPE appreciates the ways in which many of you have already demonstrated your commitment to the Society and we hope that you will enhance that support by joining us in strengthening the Endowment or helping fund our new and ongoing programs.  To support SHGAPE, please use our new web site (, which will link you to Cambridge University Press where your contributions can be made safely and securely. That is the easiest way to make a contribution. Alternatively, if you prefer, you could send a check to SHGAPE Executive Secretary Amy Wood, History Department, CB 4420, Illinois State University, Normal, IL 61790-4420 (in that case, make checks out to The Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era).

I hope to see many of you at SHGAPE events in St. Louis during the OAH. Until then, wishing you a pleasant and peaceful holiday season.

With all best wishes,


Julie GreenJulie Greene

President, SHGAPE

Professor of History

University of Maryland

College Park, MD